After I Fall


SKU: ISBN: 0-941017-22-2 Category: Contributors: Cynthia Kulikov, Ian Randall Wilson, Jack Grapes, Ronald Alexander, Stellasue Lee


Ronald Alexander, Cynthia Kulikov, Stellasue Lee, Ian Randall Wilson

1991 64pp

Here are four new voices in American poetry. Their poetry starts from the expectation that love and aging, work and family life will follow a clear and understandable path. But happiness is denied them as they discover cracks in the veneer of modern living. In these sometimes tender, sometimes sad, sometimes disquieting poems, they capture the texture of everyday life, the shifts of emotions, the desires, the hurt. First they made each other listen, now they will reach you.

The Authors

Ronald Alexander
grew up in the Midwest. He received a B.S. in Design from Indiana University. After 20 years in business, he retired to write fiction and poetry. His work has appeared in The West/Word, ONTHEBUS, and Saint Andrews Review. He is the author of two previous collections of poetry, the most recent entitled The View Outside (1991 co-authored with Ian Randall Wison). He is currently at work on his first novel.
Cynthia Kulikov
Cynthia Kulikov is a native Californian with Russian heritage. Although her childhood was spent in Arizona where she was raised a Jehovah’s Witness, she now draws upon her art for spiritual strength, and is active in the Los Angeles poetry community. She has been called the “Carrie Fisher of poetry” and is the author of three collections, The Naked Woman, The Grey Below, and Kickity-Split…an October. Her work has most recently been published in ONTHEBUS and Gawd is a Gangster.
Stellasue Lee
Stellasue Lee was a founding editor of RATTLE, a poetry journal, and is now editor emerita. She is a host of WordStream on WDVX, Knoxville, TN with Linda Parsons. Two of her books have been entrants for the Pulitzer Prize: Firecracker Red and Crossing the Double Yellow Line. Her new & selected Poems, Queen of Jacks, was released mid-summer, 2019. Dr. Lee was winner of the grand prize of Poetry To Aid in 2013 by Humanity Al Falah in Malaysia. She now teaches privately. Dr. Lee received her Ph.D. from Honolulu University. She was born in the year of the dragon.
Ian Randall Wilson
Ian Randall Wilson was born in Germany and grew up in Massachusetts. He attended MIT and Stanford University and has an S.B. in Economics and an M.A. in Communication. He is a former television writer and has lived in Los Angeles for a dozen years. His short stories and poetry have appeared in The New Mexico Humanities Review, ONTHEBUS, Bitterroot, and The North American Review. He is the author of three previous volumes of poetry: The Coming Darkness (1990), The Florida Poems (1990), and The View Outside (1991; co-authored with Ronald Alexander).